Simon Pegg


Simon John Pegg (né Beckingham; born February 14, 1970) is an English actor, comedian, screenwriter, and producer. He came to public prominence in the UK as the co-creator (with Jessica Hynes) of the Channel 4 sitcom Spaced (1999 – 2001), directed by Edgar Wright. He went on to co-write and star in the Three Flavours Cornetto film trilogy: Shaun of the Dead (2004), with Nick Frost, Kate Ashfield, Lucy Davis, Dylan Moran, Bill Nighy, and Penelope Wilton; Hot Fuzz (2007), with Frost, Jim Broadbent, Timothy Dalton, Olivia Coleman, and Paul Freeman; and The World’s End (2013), with Frost, Paddy Considine, Martin Freeman, Eddie Marsan and Rosamund Pike.

He and Frost wrote and starred in the sci-fi film Paul (2011), with Seth Rogen, Jason Bateman, Kristen Wiig, Bill Hader, Blythe Danner, Joe Lo Truglio, John Carroll Lynch, and Sigourney Weaver. He also co-wrote and starred in Run, Fatboy, Run (2007), with Moran, Thandie Newton, Harish Patel, India de Beaufort, and Hank Azaria.

Pegg is one of the few performers to have achieved what Radio Times calls “the Holy Grail of nerd-dom”, playing popular supporting characters in Doctor Who (2005), Star Trek as Montgomery “Scotty” Scott (2009–2016), with Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Karl Urban, Zoe Saldana, John Cho, and Anton Yelchin; and Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015), with Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, and Max von Sydow. He currently stars as Benji Dunn in the Mission: Impossible film series (2006–present), with Tom Cruise; and he played the Chamberlain in The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance (2019).

Other notable films include Big Nothing (2006), with David Schwimmer, Alice Eve, Jon Polito, Natascha McElhone, and Mimi Rogers; The Good Night (2007), with Gwyneth Paltrow, Penélope Cruz, Martin Freeman, Danny DeVito, and Michael Gambon; How to Lose Friends & Alienate People (2008), with Kirsten Dunst, Danny Huston, Gillian Anderson, Megan Fox, and Jeff Bridges; John Landis‘s Burke & Hare (2010), with Serkis, Isla Fisher, Tom Wilkinson, Hynes, Bill Bailey, and Tim Curry A Fantastic Fear of Everything (2012), with Clare Higgins and Amara Karan; Hector and the Search for Happiness (2014), with Pike, Toni Collette, Stellan Skarsgård, Jean Reno, and Christopher Plummer.

Films in the mid to late 2010s Include Man Up (2015), with Lake Bell; Absolutely Anything (2015), with Kate Beckinsale, Sanjeev Bhaskar, Rob Riggle, Eddie Izzard and Joanna Lumley, with the voices of John Cleese, Terry Gilliam, Eric Idle, Terry Jones (who also directed), Michael Palin, and Robin Williams; Steven Spielberg‘s Ready Player One (2018), with Tye Sheridan, Olivia Cooke, Ben Mendelsohn, Lena Waithe, T.J. Miller, and Mark Rylance; Slaughterhouse Rulez (2018), with Asa Butterfield, Finn Cole, Hermione Corfield, Michael Sheen, and Frost; Lost in Transmissions (2019), with Juno Temple and Alexandra Daddario.

Each review will be linked to the title below.

(*seen originally in theaters)

(**seen rereleased in theaters)

  • Tube Tales (1999) – directed by Amy Jenkins, Stephen Hopkins, Menhaj Huda, Charles McDougall, Bob Hoskins, Ewan McGregor, Jude Law, Armando Iannucci, & Gaby Dellal – anthology
  • Guest House Paradiso (1999) – directed by Adrian Edmondson
  • The Parole Officer (2001) – directed by John Duigan
  • 24 Hour Party People (2002) – directed by Michael Winterbottom
  • The Reckoning (2002) – directed by John Duigan
  • Final Demand (2003) – directed by Tom Vaughan – TV movie
  • Sex & Lies (2004) – directed by Jeremy Lovering – TV movie
  • Shaun of the Dead (2004)* – directed by Edgar Wright – also co-writer
  • The League of Gentlemen’s Apocalypse (2005) – directed by Steve Bendelack
  • Land of the Dead (2005) – directed by George A. Romero – cameo
  • Free Jimmy (2006) – directed by Christopher Nielsen – English dub – also writer of English dub
  • Mission: Impossible III (2006) – directed by J.J. Abrams
  • Big Nothing (2006) – directed by Jean-Baptiste Andrea
  • The Good Night (2007) – directed by Jake Paltrow
  • Hot Fuzz (2007)* – directed by Edgar Wright – also co-writer
  • Run, Fat Boy, Run (2007) – directed by David Schwimmer – also co-writer
  • Diary of the Dead (2007) – directed George A. Romero – uncredited voice cameo
  • How to Lose Friends & Alienate People (2008) – directed by Robert B. Weide
  • Star Trek (2009)* – directed by J.J. Abrams
  • Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs (2009) – directed by Carlos Saldanha & by Mike Thurmeier
  • Burke & Hare (2010) – directed by John Landis
  • The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (2010) – directed by Michael Apted
  • Scrat’s Continental Crack-Up (2010) – directed by Steve Martino & Mike Thurmeier – short
  • Paul (2011)* – directed by Greg Mottola – also co-writer
  • The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn (2011)* – directed by Steven Spielberg
  • The Death and Return of Superman (2011) – directed by Max Landis – short
  • Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol (2011) – directed by Brad Bird
  • A Fantastic Fear of Everything (2012) – directed by Crispian Mills & Chris Hopewell – also executive producer
  • The Olympic Ticket Scalper (2012) – directed by Nick Corirossi & Charles Ingram – short
  • Room on the Broom (2012) – directed by Jan Lachauer & Max Lang – TV short
  • Nice Mustache (2013) – directed by Alec Robbins – short
  • Star Trek: Into Darkness (2013) – directed by J.J. Abrams
  • The World’s End (2013)* – directed by Edgar Wright – also co-writer, executive producer
  • Cuban Fury (2014) – directed by James Griffiths – uncredited cameo
  • Hector and the Search for Happiness (2014) – directed by Peter Chelsom
  • The Boxtrolls (2014)* – directed by Graham Annable & Anthony Stacchi
  • Kill Me Three Times (2014) – directed by Kriv Stenders
  • Man Up (2015) – directed by Ben Palmer – also executive producer
  • Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation (2015) – directed by Christopher McQuarrie
  • Absolutely Anything (2015) – directed by Terry Jones
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015)* – directed by J.J. Abrams
  • Ice Age: Collision Course (2016) – directed by Mike Thurmeier & Galen Tan Chu
  • Star Trek Beyond (2016) – directed by Justin Lin – also co-writer
  • Quantum Is Calling (2016) – directed by Alex Winter – short
  • The Cloverfield Paradox (2018) – directed by Julius Onah
  • Ready Player One (2018)* – directed by Steven Spielberg
  • Terminal (2018) – directed by Vaughn Stein
  • Mission: Impossible – Fallout (2018) – directed by Christopher McQuarrie
  • Slaughterhouse Rulez (2018) – directed by Crispian Mills – also executive producer
  • Lost Transmissions (2019) – directed by Katharine O’Brien
  • Piney: The Lonesome Pine (2019) – directed by Todd Edwards & Timothy Hooten – short
  • Inheritance (2020) – directed by Vaughn Stein
  • Mission: Impossible 7 (2021) – directed by Christopher McQuarrie