Peter Yates


Peter James Yates (July 24, 1929 – January 9, 2011) was an English film director and producer. Films directed in the 1960s include Summer Holiday (1963), with Cliff Richard, Lauri Peters, David Kossoff, and Ron Moody; One Way Pendulum (1965), with Eric Sykes and George Cole; Robbery (1967), with Stanley Baker, Joanna Pettet, James Booth, Frank Finlay, Barry Foster, William Marlowe, and Clinton Greyn; Bullit (1968), with Steve McQueen, Robert Vaughn, Jacqueline Bisset, Don Gordon, Robert Duvall, Simon Oakland, and Norman Fell; and John and Mary (1969), with Dustin Hoffman, Mia Farrow, Michael Tolan, Tyne Daly, and Olympia Dukakis.

Films in the 1970s include Murphy’s War (1971), with Peter O’Toole, Siân Phillips, Philippe Noiret, and Horst Janson; The Hot Rock (1972), with Robert Redford, George Segal, Ron Leibman, Paul Sand, Moses Gunn, and Zero Mostel; The Friends of Eddie Coyle (1973), with Robert Mitchum, Peter Boyle, Richard Jordan, and Steven Keats; For Pete’s Sake (1974), with Barbra Streisand, Michael Sarrazin, and Estelle Parsons; Mother, Jugs & Speed (1976), with Bill Cosby, Raquel Welch, Harvey Keitel, and Larry Hagman; The Deep (1977), with Robert Shaw, Jacqueline Bisset, Nick Nolte, Louis Gossett Jr., and Eli Wallach; and Breaking Away (1979), with Dennis Christopher, Dennis Quaid, Daniel Stern, Jackie Earle Haley, Barbara Barrie, Paul Dooley, and Robyn Douglass; which earned him an Academy Award nomination for Best Director and Best Picture.

Yates received another Academy Award nomination for Best Director and Best Director for The Dresser (1983), with Albert Finney, Tom Courtenay, Zena Walker, Eileen Atkins, Michael Gough, Edward Fox, and Cathryn Harrison. Other films of the 1980s include Eyewitness (1981), with William Hurt, Sigourney Weaver, Christopher Plummer, and James Woods; Krull (1983), with Ken Marshall, Lysette Anthony, Freddie Jones, David Battley, Bernard Bresslaw, Alun Armstrong, Liam Neeson, Robbie Coltrane, and Francesca Annis; Eleni (1985), with Kate Nelligan, John Malkovich, Linda Hunt, and Glenne Headly; Suspect (1987), with Cher, Quaid, Neeson, John Mahoney, Joe Mantegna, Fred Melamed, and Philip Bosco; The House on Carroll Street (1987), with Kelly McGillis, Jeff Daniels, Mandy Patinkin, and Jessica Tandy; and An Innocent Man (1989), with Tom Selleck, F. Murray Abraham, and Laila Robins.

Later films include Year of the Comet (1992), with Penelope Anne Miller, Tim Daly, Louis Jourdan, Ian Richardson, Art Malik, Ian McNiece, and Nick Brimble; Roommates (1995), with Peter Falk, D.B. Sweeney, Julianne Moore, Jan Rubeš, and Ellen Burstyn; The Run of the Country (1995), with Finney, Matt Keeslar, Victoria Smurfit, and David Kelly; Curtain Call (1998), with James Spader, Michael Caine, Maggie Smith, Polly Walker, Buck Henry, Sam Shepard, Frank Whaley, and Marcia Gay Harden; TV movie Don Quixote (2000), with John Lithgow, Bob Hoskins, Isabella Rossellini, Vanessa Williams, Lambert Wilson, Amelia Warner, Tony Haygarth, Peter Eyre, Lilo Baur, James Purefoy, and Trevor Peacock; and TV movie A Separate Peace (2004), with J Barton, Jacob Pitts, Sean McCann, Alison Pill, and Hume Cronyn.

Each review will be linked to the title below.

(*seen originally in theaters)

(**seen rereleased in theaters)

Summer Holiday (1963)

  • Summer Holiday (1963)
  • One Way Pendulum (1964)
  • Robbery (1967)
  • Bullitt (1968)
  • John and Mary (1969)
  • Murphy’s War (1971)
  • The Hot Rock (1972)
  • The Friends of Eddie Coyle (1973)
  • For Pete’s Sake (1974)
  • Mother, Jugs & Speed (1976)
  • The Deep (1977)
  • Breaking Away (1979)
  • Eyewitness (1981)
  • Krull (1983)
  • The Dresser (1983)
  • Eleni (1985)
  • Suspect (1987)
  • The House on Carroll Street (1988)
  • An Innocent Man (1989)
  • Year of the Comet (1992)
  • Roommates (1995)
  • The Run of the Country (1995)
  • Curtain Call (1998)
  • Don Quixote (2000) – TV movie
  • A Separate Peace (2004) – TV movie