Wolfgang Petersen


Wolfgang Petersen (born March 14, 1941 – August 12, 2022) was a German film director, producer and screenwriter. Ha made his film debut with One or the Other of Us (1974), with Klaus Schwarzkopf, Jürgen Prochnow, Elke Sommer, Ulla Jacobsson. He was nominated for two Academy Awards for the World War II submarine warfare film Das Boot (1981), with Prochnow, Herbert Grönemeyer, and Klaus Wennemann. His other films of the 1980s include The NeverEnding Story (1984), with Noah Hathaway, Barret Oliver, Tami Stronach, Patricia Hayes, Sydney Bromley, Gerald McRaney, Moses Gunn, and Alan Oppenheimer; Enemy Mine (1985), with Dennis Quaid and Louis Gossett Jr.

Films in the 1990s include Shattered (1991), with Tom Berenger, Greta Scacchi, Bob Hoskins, Joanne Whalley and Corbin Bernsen; In the Line of Fire (1993), with Clint Eastwood, John Malkovich, Rene Russo, Dylan McDermott, Gary Cole, and John Mahoney; Outbreak (1995), with Dustin Hoffman, Russo, Morgan Freeman, Donald Sutherland, Cuba Gooding Jr., Kevin Spacey, and Patrick Dempsey; and Air Force One (1997), with Harrison Ford, Gary Oldman, Glenn Close, Wendy Crewson, Xander Berkeley, William H. Macy, Dean Stockwell, and Paul Guilfoyle.

Films in the 2000s include The Perfect Storm (2000), with George Clooney, Mark Wahlberg, Diane Lane, John Hawkes, William Fichtner, Michael Ironside, John C. Reilly, Karen Allen, and Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio; Troy (2004), with Brad Pitt, Eric Bana, Orlando Bloom, Diane Kruger, Brian Cox, Sean Bean, Brendan Gleeson, and Peter O’Toole; Poseidon (2006), with Kurt Russell, Josh Lucas, Richard Dreyfuss, Emmy Rossum, Jacinda Barrett, Mike Vogel, Jimmy Bennett, and Andre Braugher; and Four Against the Bank (2016), with Til Schweiger, Matthias Schweighöfer, Michael Herbig, and Jan Josef Liefers.

Each review will be linked to the title below.

(*seen originally in theaters)

(**seen rereleased in theaters)

  • One or the Other Us (1974)
  • The Consequence (1977)
  • Black and White Like Day and Night (1978)
  • Das Boot (1981)
  • The NeverEnding Story (1984)
  • Enemy Mine (1985)
  • Shattered (1991)
  • In the Line of Fire (1993)
  • Outbreak (1995)
  • Air Force One (1997)
  • The Perfect Storm (2000)
  • Troy (2004)*
  • Poseidon (2006)
  • Four Against the Bank (2016)