David Harbour


David Kenneth Harbour (born April 10, 1975) is an American actor. He gained global recognition for his portrayal of Jim Hopper in the Netflix science fiction drama series Stranger Things (2016–present), with Winona Ryder, Finn Wolfhard, Millie Bobby Brown, Gaten Matarazzo, Caleb McLaughlin, Natalia Dyer, Charlie Heaton, Cara Buono, Matthew Modine, Noah Schnapp, Sadie Sink, Joe Keery, Dacre Montgomery, Sean Astin, Paul Reiser, Maya Hawke, Priah Ferguson, and Brett Gelman. For the series he received a Critics’ Choice Television Award in 2018, two Emmy Award nominations and a Golden Globe Award nomination.

He made his film debut in Bill Condon’s Kinsey (2004), with Liam Neeson, Laura Linney, Chris O’Donnell, Peter Sarsgaard, Timothy Hutton, John Lithgow, Tim Curry, Oliver Platt, Dylan Baker, William Sadler, and Lynn Redgrave. Other roles in the 2000s include Steven Spielberg’s War of the Worlds (2005), with Tom Cruise, Dakota Fanning, Justin Chatwin, Miranda Otto, and Tim Robbins; Ang Lee’s Brokeback Mountain (2005), with Heath Ledger, Jake Gyllenhaal, Anne Hathaway, Michelle Williams, Linda Cardellini, Anna Farris, Randy Quaid, and Kate Mara; Awake (2007), with Hayden Christensen, Jessica Alba, Terrence Howard, Lena Olin, Fisher Stevens, Arliss Howard, Christopher McDonald, and Sam Robards; Sam Mendes’s Revolutionary Road (2008), with Leonardo DiCaprio, Kate Winslet, Michael Shannon, Kathryn Hahn, Kathy Bates, and Zoe Kazan; Marc Forster’s Quantum of Solace (2008), with Daniel Craig, Olga Kurylenko, Mathieu Amalric, Giancarlo Giannini, Jeffrey Wright, and Judi Dench; and Kevin Macdonald’s State of Play (2009), with Russell Crowe, Ben Affleck, Rachel McAdams, Helen Mirren, Jason Bateman, Robin Wright, and Jeff Daniels.

Films in the 2010s include Every Day (2011), with Liev Schreiber, Helen Hunt, Carla Gugino, Eddie Izzard, Ezra Miller, and Brian Dennehy; Michel Gondry’s The Green Hornet (2011), with Seth Rogen, Jay Chou, Christoph Waltz, Edward James Olmos, Tom Wilkinson and Cameron Diaz; W.E. (2012), with Abbie Cornish, Andrea Riseborough, Oscar Isaac, Richard Coyle, James D’Arcy, and Natalie Dormer; Thin Ice (2012), with Greg Kinnear, Alan Arkin, Billy Crudup, Lea Thompson, and Bob Balaban; David Ayer’s End of Watch (2012), with Gyllenhaal, Michael Peña, Anna Kendrick, Natalie Martinez, America Ferrera, Frank Grillo, and Cody Horn; Between Us (2012), with Taye Diggs, Melissa George, and Julia Stiles; Knife Fight (2013), with Rob Lowe, Carrie-Anne Moss, Jamie Chung, Richard Schiff, Amanda Crew, Julie Bowen, and Ryan Alosio; Snitch (2013), with Dwayne Johnson, Barry Pepper, Susan Sarandon, Jon Bernthal, Benjamin Bratt, and Michael Kenneth Williams; Parkland (2013), with James Badge Dale, Zac Efron, Jackie Earle Haley, Tom Welling, Colin Hanks, Marcia Gay Harden, Ron Livingston, Jeremy Strong, Billy Bob Thornton, Jacki Weaver, and Paul Giamatti; X/Y (2014), with Ferrera, Ryan Piers Williams (who also directed), Melonie Diaz, Jon Paul Phillips, Amber Tamblyn, and Common; A Walk Among the Tombstones (2014), with Neeson, Dan Stevens, and Boyd Holbrook; and Antoine Fuqua’s The Equalizer (2014), with Denzel Washington, Marton Csokas, Chloë Grace Moretz, Bill Pullman, and Melissa Leo.

Films in the mid 2010s include Black Mass (2015), with Johnny Depp, Joel Edgerton, Benedict Cumberbatch, Kevin Bacon, Jesse Plemons, Peter Sarsgaard, Dakota Johnson, and Corey Stoll; Suicide Squad (2016), with Will Smith, Margot Robbie, Joel Kinnaman, Viola Davis, Jai Courtney, Jay Hernandez, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Ike Barinholtz, Scott Eastwood, Cara Delevingne, and Jared Leto; Sleepless (2017), with Jamie Foxx, Michelle Monaghan, Dermot Mulroney, Tip “T.I.” Harris, Gabrielle Union, and Scoot McNairy; and Hellboy (2019), with Milla Jovovich, Ian McShane, Sasha Lane, Daniel Dae Kim, and Thomas Haden Church.

Films in the 2020s include Extraction (2020), with Chris Hemsworth, Rudhraksh Jaiswal, Randeep Hooda, Golshifteh Farahani, and Pankaj Tripathi; Steven Soderbergh’s No Sudden Move (2021), with Don Cheadle, Benicio del Toro, Jon Hamm, Amy Seimetz, Brendan Fraser, Kieran Culkin, Noah Jupe, Craig muMs Grant, Julia Fox, Frankie Shaw, Ray Liotta, and Bill Duke; Marvel’s Black Widow (2021), with Scarlett Johansson, Florence Pugh, O-T Fagbenle, Olga Kurylenko, William Hurt, Ray Winstone, and Rachel Weisz; Violent Night (2022), with John Leguizamo, Alex Hassell, Alexis Louder, Edi Patterson, Cam Gigandet, Leah Brady, and Beverly D’Angelo; Neil Blomkamp’s Gran Torismo (2023), with Archie Madekwe, Darren Barnet, Thomas Kretschmann, Djimon Hounsou, and Orlando Bloom.

Each review will be linked to the title below.

(*seen originally in theaters)

(**seen rereleased in theaters)

  • Kinsey (2004) – directed by Bill Condon
  • War of the Worlds (2005) – directed by Steven Spielberg
  • Brokeback Mountain (2005) – directed by Ang Lee
  • Confess (2005) – directed by Stefan Schaefer
  • The Wedding Weekend 2006) – directed by Bruce Leddy
  • Midnight Son (2006) – directed by Adam Davenport – short
  • Awake (2007) – directed by Joby Harold
  • Quantum of Solace (2008) – directed by Marc Forster
  • Revolutionary Road (2008) – directed by Sam Mendes
  • State of Play (2009) – directed by Kevin Macdonald
  • Every Day (2011) – directed by Richard Levine
  • The Green Hornet (2011)* – directed by Michel Gondry
  • Isolation (2011) – directed by Stephen Kay
  • W.E. (2012) – directed by Madonna
  • Thin Ice (2012) – directed by Jill Sprecher
  • End of Watch (2012) – directed by David Ayer
  • Between Us (2012) – directed by Dan Mirvish
  • Knife Fight (2013) – directed by Bill Guttentag
  • Snitch (2013) – directed by Ric Roman Waugh
  • Parkland (2013) – directed by Peter Landesman
  • X/Y (2014) – directed by Ryan Piers Williams
  • A Walk Among the Tombstones (2014) – directed by Scott Frank
  • The Equalizer (2014) – directed by Antoine Fuqua
  • Black Mass (2015) – directed by Scott Cooper
  • Suicide Squad (2016)* – directed by David Ayer
  • Sleepless (2017) – directed by Baran bo Oda
  • Human Affairs (2019) – directed by Charlie Birns
  • Hellboy (2019) – directed by Neil Marshall
  • Frankenstein’s Monster’s Monster, Frankenstein (2019) – directed by Daniel Gray Longino – short
  • Extraction (2020) – directed by Sam Hargrave
  • No Sudden Move (2021) – directed by Steven Soderbergh
  • Black Widow (2021)* – directed by Cate Shortland
  • Violent Night (2022)* – directed by Tommy Wirkola
  • Gran Turismo (2023) – directed by Neill Blomkamp
  • Thunderbolts (2024) – directed by Jake Schreier