Danny Boyle


Daniel Francis Boyle (born October 20, 1956) is an English filmmaker. He made his feature debut with Shallow Grave (1994), with Kerry Fox, Christopher Eccleston, and Ewan McGregor; which won the BAFTA Award for Best British Film. His other films of the 1990s include Trainspotting (1996), with McGregor, Ewen Bremner, Jonny Lee Miller, Kevin McKidd, Robert Carlyle, and Kelly Macdonald; and A Life Less Ordinary (1997), with McGregor, Cameron Diaz, Holly Hunter, Delroy Lindo, Ian Holm, and Dan Hedaya.

Boyle won the Academy Award for Best Director for Slumdog Millionaire (2008), with Dev Patel, Freida Pinto, Madhur Mittal, Anil Kapoor, and Irrfan Khan. Other films of the 2000s include The Beach (2000), with Leonardo DiCaprio, Tilda Swinton, Virginie Ledoyen, Guillaume Canet, and Carlyle; 28 Days Later (2002), with Cillian Murphy, Naomie Harris, Eccleston, Megan Burns, and Brendan Gleeson; Millions (2004), with Alex Etel, Lewis Owen McGibbon, James Nesbitt, Daisy Donovan, and Christopher Fulford; and Sunshine (2007), with Murphy, Chris Evans, Rose Byrne, Michelle Yeoh, Cliff Curtis, Troy Garity, Hiroyuki Sanada, Benedict Wong, Chipo Chung, and Mark Strong.

Boyle received Academy Award nominations for Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Picture for 127 Hours (2010), with James Franco, Kate Mara, Amber Tamblyn, and Clémence Poésy. Other films of the 2010s include Trance (2013), with James McAvoy, Vincent Cassel, and Rosario Dawson; Steve Jobs (2015), with Michael Fassbender, Kate Winslet, Seth Rogen, Katherine Waterston, Michael Stuhlbarg, and Jeff Daniels; T2 Trainspotting (2017), featuring much of the cast from the original and Anjela Nedyalkova; and Yesterday (2018), with Himesh Patel, Lily James, Joel Fry, Ed Sheeran, and Kate McKinnon.

Each new review will be linked to the title below.

(*seen originally in theaters)

(**seen rereleased in theaters)