John Michael McDonagh


John Michael McDonagh (born 1967) is a screenwriter and film director with British and Irish nationality. He is the older brother of playwright and filmmaker Martin McDonagh (who’s also helped produce some of his projects). His first directorial effort was the short film The Second Death (2000), with Liam Cunningham, Michelle Fairley, and and Aidan Gillen (all of whom would go on to star on the HBO series Game of Thrones). He also wrote the screenplay to Gregor Jordan’s Ned Kelly (2003), with Heath Ledger, Orlando Bloom, Naomi Watts, and Geoffrey Rush.

He wrote and directed The Guard (2011), with Brendan Gleeson, Don Cheadle, Mark Strong and Cunningham; Calvary (2014), with Gleeson, Chris O’Dowd, Kelly Reilly, Aidan Gillen, Dylan Moran, Domhnall Gleeson, M. Emmet Walsh and Isaach de Bankolé; and War On Everyone (2016), with Alexander Skarsgård, Michael Peña, Tessa Thompson and Theo James.

Each review will be linked to the title below.

(*seen originally in theaters)

(*seen rereleased in theaters)

  • The Second Death (2000) – director, writer – short
  • Ned Kelly (2003) – directed by Gregor Jordan – writer
  • The Guard (2011) – director, writer
  • Calvary (2014) – director, writer
  • War on Everyone (2016) – director, writer
  • The Forgiven (TBA) – director, writer